33. Demidov Bridge across the Griboyedov Canal 9.21.2014
Demidov Bridge across the Griboyedov Canal 9.21.2014
The Demidov Bridge (Демидов мост) crosses the Griboyedov Canal connecting Kazansky and Spassky islands in the Admiralteysky District of Saint Petersburg.
The bridge got its name from powerful Demidovs family, who owned a large section of land nearby. It connects two parts of the former Demidov street, which is known today as Grivtzov street. It was initially planned to name the span Bank Bridge, but this name had already take.
In the beginning of the 18th century, at the location of the modern Demidov Bridge, there was a wooden bridge, named Saarsky bridge, becuase it was on the road to Tsarskoe Selo. Betwenn 1834-1835 a single-span arched cast iron bridge was constructed by engineers E.A. Adam and Pierre-Dominique Bazaine. The arched span consisted of 91 cast iron boxes, which were fastened by bolts. The bridge supports were made from stone and faced with granite.
The casting of the bridge railings has a high artistic value. Their ornament has a form of palmettes (an artistic motif based on the fan-shaped leaves of a palm tree). The bridge entrance features floor lamps. Between 1954-1955 a restoration project took place under supervision of architect A.L. Rotach. Lost lamps, poles, and railing fragments were replaced.
Several houses near the bridge have special memorial plaques on their facades, noting the level of the water during the catastrophic flooding on November 7, 1824, described by Pushkin in the Bronze Horseman poem.