63. Berdov Footbridge across the Buckle River 9.21.2014

Berdov Footbridge across the Buckle (Pryazhka) River 9.21.2014

Translated from Russian Wikipedia:
Berdov Bridge (Бердов мост) crosses the Buckle River to connect Mathis and Kolomna Islands in the Admiralty district of St. Petersburg. Meat Street is a continuation of the bridge across the river. Upstream is Bath Bridge, and downstream is Spotting bridge.

A cast-iron bridge was built here towards the end of the 18th century. In 1830 it was called Blacksmith Bridge. The name was changed in 1849 to Berdov Bridge. The name is connected to industrialist Charles Byrd, whose metalworking plant at the beginning of the 19th century was one of the largest in St. Petersburg. The small footbridge went straight to the factory gate, combined it with the Meat Street.

The 18th century wooden trёhprolёtny strut-beam bridge was rebuilt from 1805-1806 by William Hastie. It was one of the first metal bridges in St. Petersburg. The modern span was built in 1952 by engineer EA Boltunova.

K. Stanyukovich's protagonist from the novel "The Story of One Life" lived by the Berdova bridge.

No comments:

Post a Comment