39. Little Stables Bridge across the Griboyedov Canal 9.21.2014
Little Stables (New Stables, Novo-Konyushenny) Bridge across the Griboyedov Canal (Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood in the background) 9.21.2014
The Little Stables Bridge (New Stables Bridge, Novo-Konyushenny, Мало Конюшенный мост, Ново-Конюшенный мост) crosses the Griboedov Canal in Saint Petersburg at Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood. It acts as an extension of the Stable Square.
The first wooden bridge was built here in the 1880s to assist the construction of the Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood. During construction, the width of the bridge reached 115 meters (for comparison, the widest bridge in Saint Petersburg today, the Blue Bridge is 97.5 meters wide). When the cathedral was completed in 1907, the bridge remained in place and was named Church of the Resurrection of Christ Bridge. After October Revolution in 1917, it was renamed the bridge-overlap. In 1975, the new ferroconcrete bridge was built, and it was named the Grinevsky Bridge, after Ignacy Hryniewiecki, the assassin of Tsar Alexander II of Russia (who threw the bomb into the tzar's cart near the location of the modern bridge). In 1998 the bridge was given its current name, after the nearby Stable Square (Konyushennaya Square).