72. Cossak Footbridge across the Monastrka River 9.22.2014

Cossak Footbridge across the Monastrka River 9.22.2014

Translated from Russian Wikipedia:
Originally the Monastyrka as well as the Volkovka river were part of the Black River. The mention of this river goes back to the 1500's. In 1829 the eastern section of the Obvodnyi (Bypass) channel was built dividing the river into two parts. The northern part was called Monastyrka by Alexander Nevsky Monastery. With the direction of the river flow reversed: it began to flow out of the Neva and into the flow channel.

The high banks of the river were strengthened by stemming wooden piles with zabirnymi walls, from the Neva to the Monastery. The steep slopes of the coast is often blurred, jeopardizing the existence of historic cemeteries necropolis: Lazarevsky and Tikhon. The first coastal protection banquet low wall began in the area between the Obukhovskoy Defense and monastery bridges in 1963, in conjunction with the construction of bridges. In 1965 a low wall was built on site banquet DOZ Halturina, mainly on the left bank of the river, with the Cossack bridge at the confluence. In 1973 areas of low embankment were built between the 1st and monastery Lavra bridges.

No comments:

Post a Comment