7. Belinsky Bridge across the Fontanka River 9.21.2014
Belinsky Bridge across the Fontanka River
Translated from Russian Wikipedia:
Belinsky bridge (Мост Белинского) crosses the Fontanka in the alignment of Belinsky street. Until 1923 it was called Simeon, named after a nearby Church of St. Simeon and Anna. This name came from the nearby barracks of the Semenov Regiment.
A wooden bridge was built here in 1733 on pile foundations. In 1785, it was rebuilt as the first characteristic tower type bridge by architect Pirone..
In 1859 the tower was demolished, and the wooden swing span was replaced with stone. Unlike the rest of the rebuilt bridge over the Fontanka (except old-Kalinkin and University Bridge) Bridge Belinsky retained characteristic outlines spans. In 1890, the sidewalk was brought to the side of the console. In 1988, it approved a project to restore the historic appearance of the bridge with the erection of the towers, but because of the onset of the economic difficulties has not been realized. In 1999 the bridge was repaired.