77. New-Kamenniy Bridge across the Bypass Canal 9.22.2014
New Kamenniy (Novo-Kamenniy) Bridge across the Bypass Canal (pictured in the background) 9.22.2014
The New Kamenniy Bridge (Ново-Кирпичного мост, Novo-Kamenniy) crosses the Bypass Canal at Ligovsky Avenue in Saint Petersburg. It connects Bezimyanni Island with the Tsentralny and Frunzensky districts of the city.
The first bridge was built here at the end of the 18th century. It was called Gerard bridge. Construction was supervised by engineer Ivan Gerard. The Gerard bridge replaced a wooden beam aqueduct built to carry the Ligovsky Canal—the Yamskoi Vodoprovodniy Aqueduct—though the Ligovsky Canal was filled-in in the 1890s; the ‘Gerard’ bridge occupied the alignment of the filled-in canal.
After stryuctural problems and increased levels of traffic, the Gerard bridge was replaced with the Bazaine bridge. The engineer Pierre-Dominique Bazaine supervised the construction between 1816 and 1821.
A third bridge was constructed between 1846 and 1848 under the direction of engineer A. N. Erakov. The Erakov bridge featured granite pools for drinking from,[clarification needed by rewording sentence] with the water being sourced from the Ligovsky Canal. The Erakov bridge was repaired and reconstructed in 1862, 1872 and 1874, although changes were not made to the bridge's design or general appearance.
With intensive building in the 1950s, Ligovsky Avenue and the roads around the Bypass Canal became congested. The 14 metre-wide Erakov bridge was replaced with the current Novo-kamenniy (Guttsajt) bridge. It was designed by architect L. A. Noskov and was constructed between 1968 and 1970, developed by engineers N. P. Agapov and A. D. Guttsajt. The Novo-kamenniy (‘Guttsajt’) Bridge was substantially wider than its predecessor—at just under 45 metres in width and was opened to public use on November 7, 1970.