87. New-Peterofsky Bridge across the Bypass Canal 9.22.2014

New-Peterofsky Bridge across the Bypass Canal 9.22.2014

Translated from Russian Wikipedia:
The New-Peterofsky Bridge (Ново-Петергофский мост, Novo Peterhof) crosses the Bypass channel in the alignment of Lermontov Prospekt in St. Petersburg. Lermontov Avenue connects with the area of ​​the Baltic Railway Station.

The first bridge was built on this site in 1857. It was a wooden trapezoidal-braced bridge with trehprolёtny construction. With minor design changes the width of the bridge was repaired in 1889 and again in 1909, carried out under the project development engineer KV Efimevym.

In the late 1920s, in connection with the planned tram line on Lermontov Prospekt, it became necessary to build a new bridge. The bridge engineers were OE Bugaeva, NE Yermolaev, MI Zhdanov and architect K. Dmitriev. The bridge architectural design was carried out with the participation of the chief architect of Leningrad LA Ilyin. Professor GP Perederiy advised he project.

Several options were considered for the new bridge design: odnoprolёtnogo arch system, odnoprolёtnogo frame-console system, trehprolёtnogo a continuous beam system and trehprolёtnogo conventional beam system. To implement the adoption of the new, fifth, bridge a monolithic frame construction design was neccesary. The construction of the bridge was carried out in the period from 1931 to 1932.

In 1960, at the suggestion of the Chief Engineer Lenmostotresta PP Stepnova the bridge railings were replaced, although the iron grates were similar.

The bridge design is odnoprolёtny monolithic reinforced concrete, according to the static scheme is a hingeless frame. The bridge is designed to skip the road transport. The full length of the bridge on the back side of the parapet foundations is 33.30 meters. The width between handrails is 23.1 meters.

In the cross section of the span are nine frames. There were originally gas lines laid beneath the sidewalks, but in 1950, after the explosion of a similar pipeline at the Obukhov Bridge, the pipes were removed.

The bridge railings were originally a simple design, made ​​from bar stock and tubular iron. The new railings contain sections of perekreschёnnyh circles overlaid with shields, with a lion's mask in the middle, enclosed in a serpentine shape. The Pedestals are presented as liktorskih beams.

The roadway covering was originally made ​​from diabase blocks. Asphalt now covers the paving. The sidewalks are arranged at a higher level.

No comments:

Post a Comment