145. Bolsheokhtinsky Bridge across the Neva River 9.25.2014
Bolsheokhtinsky (Peter the Great) Bridge across the Neva River 9.25.2014
Translated from Russian Wikipedia:
The Bolsheokhtinsky Bridge (БОЛЬШЕОХТИНСКИЙ мост) crosses the Neva River connecting the city historic center (Tula Street) with the Malaya Okhta area (Krasnogvardeiskaya).
When this bridge was constructed in 1911 it was considered a miracle of engineering technology. It was named Peter the Great Bridge. In 1917 the name was changed to Bolsheohtinsky Bridge. The bridge has adjustable metallic trёhprolёtny central span. The towers, designed as lighthouses, act as mechanisms that lift the wings.
The arched metal side spans are 136 meters each. The central span is a riveted Diptera metal adjustable swivel. The average length of flight is 48 meters. The wings rotate about fixed horizontal axes which open. The left-bank abutment is erected on pile foundation. The remaining bridge supports are coffered base. The piers are faced with granite. The left-bank granite support slopes to the water. Before 1983, right bank support descended to the water as well, but was eliminated for the construction of the main highway on the Malookhtinsky waterfront.
The metal bridge weighs 8,920 tons. The bascule span is 1065 tons.
At the top of the towers are cubic tetrahedral lights. Semicircular polubashenki gabled semi-domes are attached to the towers. On the walls hang six bronze plaques bearing the names of the builders. The entrances are decorated with metallic multi-center curve. Pylons with vertical slits support hanging lanterns.
Discussion began in the 1880s to construct a bridge that would connect the city with the OHTINSKII suburb, but the carriers lobby did not want to lose a profitable business and obstructed every effort. A site was selected and prepared in 1900, when construction began on the Trinity Bridge. Engineer and bridge builder VA Bears, who had just returned from building the Trans-Siberian Railroad, participated in drafting a plan.
Work took about a year to prepare specifications for the project. In 1901 there was a competition to design the bridge. Out of 16 designs, half came from foreign firms. The most suitable design bore the slogan "freedom of navigation". It was carried out by Professor Nicholas (Colonel GG Krivoshein Academy of Engineering) in collaboration with the military engineer Lieutenant Colonel VP Apyshkovym. The authors were invited to finalize the project.
Engineers SP Bobrowski, P. Sheloumov, and GP Perederiy participated in finalizing the draft. The plan was approved in 1907, and construction began June 26, 1909. The bridge was named "Bridge of Emperor Peter the Great". GG Krivoshein was the construction manager. The contract was awarded to a little-known firm in Warsaw, and the manufacturer of a movable span mechanism which became Petersburg Metal Works.
On October 26, 1911 the bridge was opened. After the revolution, the bridge was renamed Bolsheohtensky. In 1956, in accordance with the new rules, the spelling was changed to Bolsheokhtinsky.
Due to the high quality of construction the first repairs weren't required until 1971.
In 1982-1983 a transport interchange with an overpass on the right bank of the Neva was built. Engineers AD Gutzeit, RR Thorns; and architects G. Shindin and NA Dibtsev were the authors of the project.
In 1993, the bridge had to be closed for repairs. More than three thousand tons of steel were installed, as well as 48,000 square meters of asphalt laid and about 10,000 cubic meters of concrete poured. The design replaced 25,000 high-strength bolts, and about 4,000 square meters of surface were faced with granite. Despite the lack of funding the bridge was reopened December 14, 1996, and the full repair completed in 1997. During the reconstruction, the previously removed inscription "Bridge of Great Emperor Peter" was restored, giving rise to rumors of renaming the bridge Peter the Great. Tunnels were built on the left bank at this time. New bridge lights were added in 2000. In 2005, tram service ended on the bridge. The rails were finally removed in October 2010. Metal structures were painted and clearance lights added in April 2011.
Type of construction:
Side spans - through metal riveted arched farm carriageway on the bottom belt
The main span - Adjustable metal riveted dipterous
Width of the bridge:
Coordinates: 59 ° 56'33 "with. sh. 30 ° 24'04 "to. d. (G) (O) (I)