146. Shlisselburgsky Bridge across the Bypass Canal 9.25.2014

Shlisselburgsky Bridge across the Bypass Canal (with the Neva River in the Background) 9.25.2014

Translated from opeterburge.ru:
Shlisselburgsky Bridge (Шлиссельбургский мост) crosses the bypass channel and is located along the Avenue of Obukhovskoy Defense. It used to be called Arkhangelogorodskaya Bridge. From 1849 to 1862, it was called the New Archangel Bridge and from 1860 to 1885, the Archangel. From 1885 to 1925 it was called Arkhangelogorodskaya, and in the 1920s it was given it's current name.

The first crossing was an old wooden bridge built from 1828 to 1830, and called Serial Bridge. Shlisselburgsky bridge was built here in 1833 by engineer P. Bazin. It was a single span wooden arched structure, which had foundations of rubble, and was faced with granite. In 1886 Shlisselburgsky bridge was rebuilt. It had new stone pillars clad in granite, an oak arch, and newly installed metal railings.

From 1928 to 1929, the old wooden bridge was replaced with a reinforced concrete single-span arch bridge, having a through nadarochnoe structure. The modern Shlisselburgsky bridge has a length of 35 meters, and a width of 24 meters. The project was developed by engineers BD Vasiliev and OE Bugaeva.

No comments:

Post a Comment